How to prevent content theft on WordPress

When I was still on the Blogger platform, there was this guy who copied my blog post word-by-word. His action made me look for means to penalize his blog but it was all to no avail. I’ve never tried DMCA before the incident, so I rushed to their site looking for refuge, only for me to find out that they charge $199 (N71,640) to take down a site for copyrighted content.

The charges were too much for someone like me. I began to think, instead of paying that huge sum to them, I can invest the money in other things. This drove me to look for other alternatives, at first, I searched heaven and earth for a free take down service, but I didn’t find any.

Thankfully, I stumbled upon a code that prevents other people from copying from a blog. This code doesn’t only prevent copying from a blog, it also stops Right-click function. I copied the code, placed it on my Blogger sidebar and voila! It worked.

Read Also: How to disable both right click and copy & paste on blogger In this post, we are going to look at how we can stop copy and paste on your WordPress blog using WP Content Copy Protection plugin. Install and activate WP Content Copy Protection plugin. In case you are new to this, check out our well detailed post on how to install plugins on WordPress.

Upon activation, the plugin will begin to work with immediate effect. You can access the plugin options by clicking on Protection with the padlock sign or go to Settings>>WP Content Copy Protection.

Like most plugins, WP Content Copy Protection plugin is free to download but it has a basic feature and a premium feature. The basic feature is available to all users while the premium feature is available for those who purchase the premium plan. Let’s quickly take a look at all features of the basic and premium plan.